Breakfast of Champions

Well, I wrote down what I ate today. It ended up being so long that in order to avoid verging on boring, I’m going to make this post all about breakfast, and add the rest later on!

I have been using ‘Oh Natural’ Vega Energizing Smoothie because it packs a punch with 5 grams of fibre, 10 grams of protein and two servings of veggies, but in the spirit of whole foods, I’ve decided to move on to making my smoothies entirely from “real” ingredients.  Don’t get me wrong, Vega is fantastic.  Equally awesome is that it was engineered by Canadian Ironman competitor Brendan Brazier, and he’s just fantastic (check out here and here).  But it served as kind of a starting point, until I felt comfortable and stocked up enough to do it myself.  It’s also great to have around when you’re too busy to make a meal.  Throw it in some tasty non-dairy milk and shake it up.  Instant food!

Instead this morning, I did my own thing, using a previously undreamed of ingredient from Alicia Silverstone’s The Kind Diet recipe.  It came out a muddy sort of green-brown colour but so what? If it bothers you, put it in an opaque cup with a straw! It’s delicious!!

My Morning Smoothie

  • about ¾ cup almond milk (or any other kind of non-dairy beverage, even water, I suppose)
  • one banana
  • one apple. I used Gala, cored and sliced but not peeled.  This could easily be passed over as well.
  • a handful of kale. Spinach works too but I feel it has more of a taste and I don’t like that gritty after-effect.
  • 6 frozen strawberries, slightly defrosted if you don’t want to wake up your sleeping significant other with the murderous grind of the blender
  • ½ cinnamon stick. Yep. This was Alicia’s idea.  It was epic. Don’t worry, it blended up great.
  • 1/3 cup (ish) soft tofu. Since cutting the Vega mix, I really need the protein.  I will be looking into alternatives to tofu, but I didn’t taste this at all.
  • 1 Tbsp ground flaxseed.  My blender is a one piece one (Kitchen Aid) that doesn’t have a detachable blade (at least not without a bunch of hassle) so I put this into the bottom of my cup and stir it into the blended smoothie as I pour.

Very approximate nutritional information:
317 cal; 9g fibre; 19g sugar; 10.5g protein; 8.5g fat

This comes out really thick, so you might want to add more liquid if you don’t feel like scraping the last bits right out of the cup and into your mouth with a spatula (yeah…I have no shame).  Believe me, you won’t want to waste those final few gulps!

This drink was freaking delicious.  And if you haven’t gone the green smoothie route before, I can personally guarantee you won’t taste the kale at all.  I plan to find and tweak a “real” green smoothie (usually just an apple or some lemon juice along with the greens), but I haven’t gotten around to it yet, and I want to use up my strawberries before my freezer decides to go on auto defrost again and they get icky.

I wasn’t hungry until lunchtime, and that is a real feat for a mere drink – I usually start getting the grumblies around about ten.  I just can’t get over how amazing that crunch of cinnamon made my smoothie.  Definitely give it a try – you won’t be sorry!

See you again this evening!

Leave a Reply

