Something for Sunday

I generally make Sunday my non-breakfast smoothie day.  I enjoy them very much, and I wouldn’t exactly say that I get sick of them, but sometimes I just need a change.

This morning I had oatmeal (riveting, I know!) with some of this nifty cereal I found, stirred in.

Qi'a

Qi’a (KEE-ah) is a mix of Chia seeds, buckwheat groats and hemp seeds.  That’s it!  Two tablespoons (the recommended serving size) loads you up with 6 grams of protein, and 2.5 grams each of Omega-3s and Omega-6s!  It also has iron (apparently 16% RDI).  That’s pretty good for two tablespoons of anything, though if you’ve looked into chia see at all, I’m sure you aren’t surprised.

Since it has chia seed in it, this cereal will gel up if you let it soak in liquid.  When I needed something for a break snack on Friday, I mixed in almond milk (4 T) and some maple syrup before I left the house, and by the time break rolled around, I had this lovely, sweet, tapioca-like pudding.  It was delicious and so easy! And considering the price of most healthy granola these days, this compares pretty well.  Six dollars for about 8 servings.

I don’t foresee my meals being terribly exciting today, on the whole.  I plan to write at the coffee shop, and then I’ll most likely finish up the mac n’ cheeze sauce I started yesterday, and just toss something together for supper.  But since pictures are worth, like, a bunch of words, I would like to share a super simple side dish that I actually remembered to photograph!

I was inspired by the most AMAZING roasted potatoes at my friend’s wedding (one of only two things I could actually eat), but I try not to eat potatoes very often.  I don’t have the same reservations about sweet potatoes though, thank goodness! So the other day I cubed the half sweet potato that had been sitting in my fridge for a few days:

Super Simple Roasted Sweet Potatoes

sweet potato

  • sweet potato, cubed
  • olive oil
  • sea salt
  • pepper
  • dried rosemary
  • dried thyme

I mixed this all together in a 9×13 pan, and just tossed it in a 400 degree oven for about 40 minutes.  I didn’t find they got crisp on the outside, but you can always just pan fry them in a teeny bit more oil.  The only thing I noticed is that because not much moisture escapes from the potatoes as they bake, the herbs remain a bit hard.  Next time I will either soak them for awhile before mixing them with the potatoes, or use fresh herbs.  I have to be honest, though.  I don’t use fresh herbs very often because I usually only need them for a single dish, and they sell them in such big bunches.  My significant other is very pumped up by the idea of using mason jars to grow herbs, though, so maybe I’ll have my own in the next few weeks!

As predicted, my supper wasn’t overly creative, but I will share it anyway, since it was pretty darn tasty!  I had some mushrooms I wanted to use up, so I sauteed them in sesame oil, along with kale and thinly sliced red cabbage, a bit of garlic and a splash of soy sauce.  Yum, and so pretty!

veggie saute

With a nice, relaxing weekend and some freshly prepped foods in the fridge, I feel like I’m ready to take on another trudging work week!

*Lou

Leave a Reply

