Cabbage, Lentils and Quinoa, oh my!

I have fallen seriously in love with steamed/sautéed red cabbage.  It’s kind of a weird addiction, I know, but cabbage actually has a surprising amount of nutritional benefit, and when sautéed with a touch of sesame oil and tamari (gluten-free soy sauce), it almost caramelizes! Yum!

cabbage

Isn’t it just so pretty?!

What is this nutritional benefit I mentioned, you ask? Well, besides being 90% water, which makes them a great “fill-up for (almost) free” food, red cabbage boasts vitamins C, K and A, and awesome antioxidants. However, I am cooking it, so that sometimes results in a loss of nutrients. Apparently Vitamin C is the biggest one there. Luckily, I’m pretty sure most vegans get plenty of it without trying very hard, so I’m not too worried. It is also suggested that it be kept “al dente”, to retain as much of the good stuff as possible. (I’m quoting from here and here.)

There’s a good chance my tasty cabbage dish isn’t much more than “fill-up for free”.  Oh well.  I’m sure I’m maintaining some of the goodness.  Either way, this is definitely one of those lazy day foods I mentioned.  Chop the cabbage, toss it in the wok, cover it and stir occasionally.  Easy and fast.

I also threw together a leftovers mix yesterday, because as I’m mentioned before, I tend to really slack off on the beans/legumes front.

ricelentil

Yep, I’ve also started to replenish my B-12 supply!

Look tasty?  All I did was steam some collard greens with a little bit of onion powder, and top them with re-heated brown rice, green lentils and salsa! Have I mentioned I’m also addicted to salsa?

I made this today for lunch, as well, but since I was nearly falling asleep at my desk, I figured I needed a whole lot of energy to get me through the afternoon.  I baked sweet potatoes last night, and I recently read that the skins are extremely good for you, so I cubed half of one.  I also sautéed some cabbage in my usual fashion (I need help…)  It was a lot of food!

lunch2

I think that is the most full the stovetop has ever been for one lunch.  Except I didn’t actually have tea 🙂

It was my hope that this lunch had enough of all kinds of good things to hold me over until five. I think it did! Nearly one cup of lentils really ought to do it for protein, anyway.

big lunch

I know you are beginning to appreciate my drinking glass collection…

Speaking of protein, before I went Vegan there was a quinoa dish that my S.O. and I absolutely loved.  It involved cooking onions, together with quinoa and veggie broth, and stirring in parmesan cheese. The recipe is here.

I’m not a huge fan of quinoa; unless it’s got quite a lot added to it, I find it rather bitter and bland, even though I do rinse it!   But it is so darn good for you, I really ought to be eating it more often.

With this in mind, I tried the “veganized” version of this dish for supper.  As she suggests in the original recipe, I subbed out cheese for nutritional yeast, and olive oil for butter.  I also forgot to take a picture.  But really, that ought to speak to how good this dish was! It honestly tasted pretty much the same as the version with Parmesan cheese, if a bit less ooey-gooey.  Definitely a winner.  And while it does take 20 minutes or so to prepare, it’s definitely worth it.  You could also make extra and have it for lunch the next day!

All in all, a pretty yummy food experience today!

Leave a Reply

