The Cookie To End All Cookies (but oh gosh, I hope that’s not true!)

I made a recipe this past weekend for the second time, but I have had so many other things to talk about that I haven’t gotten around to sharing it with you. Until now!

Do you like cookies?  Warm, chewy, fresh out of the oven with just enough good stuff in them that you can convince yourself that eating them three at a time is better than two?  If you said no, you should probably just leave and wait for my next post.

Vegan cookie recipes aren’t hard to find.  I would be surprised, in fact, if there existed a type of cookie that doesn’t have a animal product-less offspring, except maybe meringues (wrong).

So I don’t get giddy just because  I have discovered a decently tasty Vegan cookie recipe.  I get a little bit worked up when the cookie recipe is titled “The Ultimate Vegan Oatmeal Raisin Cookie”.  This is partly because the word ultimate, when applied to cookies, hints at warm, plush raisins amidst a subtle cinnamon backdrop.  It also has to do with that kind of cookie being my absolute favourite cookie in the world (followed closely by the dough for shortbread cookies).

I had tried a few oatmeal raisin recipes that would be classed as Vegan, usually when I had no eggs in the house and was really, really hankering.  But when Angela at Oh She Glows calls it “ultimate,” I’m  willing to take her at her word.  (I also get giddy and faint like a fan girl when she responds to my comments…)  I was even willing to spend $4 on walnuts just for one batch.

It was worth it.

cookies

Soft, chewy, cinnamon-y, and undeniably ultimate, these cookies are the the best oatmeal raisin cookies I have ever tasted.  And I have tasted a lot of them in my life

Cookie bite Angela is right on the mark when she said that toasting the walnuts was marvelous.  Even when they are just sitting in the food processor freshly ground, they smell absolutely amazing.

I don’t want to tell you how many cookies I ate after I made these yesterday, so I hope you’re bad at math.  The batch made 23 cookies.  That evening, 14 cookies were neatly packed into the cookie jar.  Yeah.

cookie jar

Dessert the last couple of days has been these guys dipped in coconut icing (just the solid part of a can of coconut milk, with maple syrup and vanilla/chocolate).  Or nestled under coconut icing.   Or without coconut icing at all – I’m really not picky.

cookie with icing

So try them.  Please! I make only one suggestion.  I found that old fashioned oats did not soak up quite enough of the liquid, and remained a bit tough.  Quick oats would likely work better.  But I didn’t use quick oats and I still went through an undisclosed number of them.

If you love them as much as I do, be sure to let Angela know.  And check out her site.  She’s a Vegan Goddess for sure!

 

*Lou

Leave a Reply

