Not-So-Gluten-Free

My S.O. cruelly chose to bake a cheese pizza for supper the other night, so I had absolutely no recourse but to make one for myself!  He does win a few points for using only half the thin crust dough he made, thereby saving me the time!

Now, what to spread across that delicious, soon to be crunchy and piping hot, crust.  Caramelized onions was an easy choice – they truly do make the “cheese”.  But as happy as I would be to spread creamy, gooey onions all over and call it done, I felt like that was a bit of a sell-out.  On the other hand, I was feeling considerably too lazy to create anything fancy.  Here’s what I came up with!

Easy “Cheezy” Chick’n Pizza

  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • 2 medium yellow onions, sliced
  • 4 Gardein Crispy Fingers, Chipotle Lime flavour, baked as directed
  • 2 T Vegan margarine
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • ¼ tsp black truffle oil, optional
  • thin, whole wheat pizza crust
  • ¼ cup nutritional yeast
  1. Heat the olive oil in a pan, and add the sliced onions.  Cook on medium-low heat until onions are soft and brown.  When nearly finished, stir in nutritional yeast.
  2. While onions are cooking, bake the Crispy Fingers as directed.  When finished, let cool.
  3. In a separate pan, melt the margarine.  Add the truffle oil and the minced garlic, and saute until garlic is soft.
  4. If pizza crust is uncooked, spread the garlic butter on the crust and bake for just shy of the full time.
  5. Slice the Crispy Fingers thinly and mix into the onions. Spread mixture on crust and return to oven to reheat the chick’n and finish baking the crust.

pizza1
Yum! This pizza was so good – I’ve given up even bothering to cut my pies into more than quarters. I know I’m inevitably going to end up eating at least two of them, anyway…

pizza3

In this particular case, I ate three.  I feel I deserve some credit for abstaining from the last piece, and eating it for lunch the next day, instead.

pizza2

I should take this moment to ask you to please forgive the shoddy photography (like, in general).  I actually do a lot of photography, but when I make food, I just want to eat it and not waste time pulling out my Digital SLR and getting the lighting right. 🙂  I have a hard enough time just remembering to take pictures!

In the spirit of wheatful grains (which, as far as I’ve read, really aren’ t bad for you when you aren’t gluten-sensitive or Celiac, as long as you use them in moderation and use whole wheat flour!), I would like to share my bread recipe with you.

My S.O. and I haven’t purchased store-bought bread in months. This is due to my incredible discovery that the stuff is cheaper than borscht and easier than steaming broccoli to make from scratch! And I didn’t even need to rewrite a recipe, or find a vegan one! Simply swap out the milk for almond milk in this recipe, and you’re set! I use all whole wheat flour, and lemon juice to make my almond milk “buttermilk”. This time I used coconut oil instead of margarine, and swapped out ¼ cup of the flour for ground flax.

bread2 Wow, that’s a dirty oven window…

I don’t usually leave it overnight in the fridge, I just let it rise once, put it in the pans and let it rise again, and bake it.  I have tried the overnight method, and it totally works! Definitely do as he suggests and let it get to room temp before you toss it into the oven, though.

bread3Ouch – and a dirty stove.  I swear I cleaned up after!

Unless you have baked bread at home, you can’t imagine how amazing it smells.  And how wonderful it tastes (just that knowledge that you did it yourself…)!

bread1

 So if your body doesn’t rally against it, enjoy your whole wheat goodies in moderation.  There’s still nutrition in there!
*Lou

Leave a Reply

