Spice of Life

To lead an exciting culinary life as a Vegan, we really need to be fearless when it comes to strange flavour combinations.  Cheesy Pepper Rice bowl?  You might not think it, but it’s remarkably tasty!

Before I get to that, though, I want to discuss my latest spice discovery.

Not that I’m taking credit for this discovery, mind you.  I have read through countless recipes that call for Smoked (or Smokey) Paprika.  Every time, I thought of deviled eggs with their pretty red topping and figured – the non-smoked stuff has practically no flavour; how much difference can the “smoke” make?

If any of my readers feel the same – stop. Now.  Get out to Bulk Barn or some place that sells a bit beyond the regular, and buy some smokey paprika.

This little spice makes an unbelievable amount of difference in dishes (and at this point, many of you are probably going ‘yeah…duh’).  I finally tried it when my mom’s friend listed it among the spices I was free to play with for supper.  I said oh! I keep hearing about that.  And she said: oh my goodness, try it!

I can’t explain the flavour, except the say that it’s smokey.  I know, I’m a wonder with words.

Now that I have – with a bit of luck – either sold you on it or solidified myself as clueless in your mind, I’ll share this recipe with you.  I honestly just needed to get rid of some stuff in the fridge.  I had a rice portion that I pulled from the freezer a few days ago.  I also had some peppers, mushrooms and Daiya cheese.  So I figured what the heck, and I made this:

  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • ½ red pepper
  • ½ yellow pepper
  • 1 cup cooked rice (I happened to have a wild/Arborio/etc. mix)
  • Mushrooms (I only had two, but I would definitely use more next time)
  • ½ cup Daiya cheddar “cheese”
  • Smoked paprika
  • Cayenne powder
  • Fine sea salt

I sautéed the peppers and mushrooms for a little bit, then dumped in the rice.  Once the rice was warmed, I added the cheese and spices (all to taste; I never measure) and stirred until the cheese had melted.

cheesy pepper rice

Voila!  How easy is that? And the wonderful thing about Leftover Meals is that you can toss in whatever! I am thinking maybe some firm tofu for protein, or even some kind of faux Italian sausage.  Starting with some onion would be great.  I certainly would have added garlic, but that all I have at the moment is whole cloves and I didn’t feel like chopping one.

This was my breakfast.  It would be perfect for any meal, and assuming none of your ingredients were too old, would likely taste delicious as a leftover in itself.

Enjoy, lovelies!

*Lou

Leave a Reply

