Pizza Party

Greetings!

Throughout the craziness that has been the last month, I have learned a few Vegan-y things:

1. Most veggie samosas are Vegan!  This is excellent news for my tummy, and not-so-great info for my student loan-sized budget.

2. The London Fog is the perfect fallback when a coffee shop’s chai latte has honey/milk powder in it.  Again, not such wonderful news for the pocket-book, but definitely a life saver on drowsy mornings.

3. As long as you don’t preach or make faces at their burgers, folks are genuinely interested in Veganism!   Even if they just end up using it as an inroad to talk about how much they love bacon.

But the past four weeks haven’t been all spicy Indian awesomeness and fragrant soy pick-me-ups.  I really have been eating at home most of the time, though my meals are often less than creative.  For instance, I broke down and bought potato and onion perogies, and I make a lot of popcorn.  Unfortunately, this means I’ve been using a lot of oil, and I really need to work on that.

In amongst this laziness, I have had a few, fleeting moments of inspiration.  Today I want to show you my latest pizza creation!

I have a tantalizing love affair with Amy’s No Cheese pizza.  But seeing as I haven’t figured out how to make one last into a second day, the price was really beginning to hurt.  (But don’t get me wrong – totally worth every penny).  I decided to try my hand at a homemade approximation of my fave treat.

I recently discovered Flatouts.  These nifty flatbreads come in various shapes and flavours, and the oblong Italian Herb option looked perfect for pizza.

The result by no means tastes like Amy’s (plus I’ve made it with ‘cheese’ every time so far), but it touches on a number of choice flavours in the original.  Therefore, I dub it a win!

The Yummy Pizza That’s Small Enough You Don’t Feel too Badly Eating it All …

  • 1 Flatout! Italian Herb flatbread
  • 1 sm yellow onion, thinly sliced
  • 6 button mushrooms, sliced
  • ½ red bell pepper, seeds removed
  • a few artichoke hearts, finely chopped
  • 2 tsp vegan margarine
  • ½ – 1 clove garlic (based on Expected Vampire Interaction for the day), minced
  • ½ cup Daiya mozzarella shredded “cheese”
  1. Set oven to broil.  Place half pepper directly on a high rack, and roast until skin is blackened.  You may want to put a tray on the lower rack – the peppers tend to leak a bit!
  2. When skin is black, remove pepper from the oven and put in a plastic bag to cool and steam.  Once it’s cooled, the skin should slide right off.  Slice the pepper finely.
  3. While the pepper is cooling, gently brown the onions on the stove, and let them caramelize.  Part way through the process, add the sliced mushrooms and artichoke hearts.  Note: Usually when I am caramelizing onions, I will add some water partway through.  The mushrooms supply the water in this case, since they lose quite a bit of it when they are cooking.  photo 1 (1)
  4. Set the oven to 350 F.  Be sure to move the top rack back to the middle!
  5. Melt the margarine together with the garlic, and spread over the flatbread.  Scatter the sliced pepper and caramelized onion mixture and sprinkle with Daiya.photo 2 (1)
  6. Place the pizza on a cooling rack, and then on a pan.  Because the crust is so thin, I found that if the pizza sat directly on a pan, the bottom got kind of soggy.
  7. Bake the pizza until the cheese is melted.  I sometimes switch to broil partway through to avoid burning the crust.  If your toppings were warm enough when added, you could probably just broil the whole time.

photo 3 (1)

Sound good?  Oh, it was.

Thanks for tuning in!

*Lou

2 thoughts on “Pizza Party

Leave a Reply

